Global Phone or No Phone?

I recently have been stressing about ways to save on expenses while living in Ecuador for six months and have made a decision. I am suspending my phone for the duration of my time down in South America.

free skype-to-skype calls anywhere in the world are a cheaper alternative than global phones

My Blackberry is global capable, which is why I bought it. However, because it costs me $65 a month, excluding the global activation, which would be an additional $30, it just seemed to be more of a burden than a blessing.

So, I went to my cell phone provider and asked them to suspend my phone. The girl told me it would be about $30 total because it would have to be re-activated after 3-months and then re-suspended. GROOVY! That is less than one-month of having my phone turned on.

I figure I can keep in touch with my family and friends using Skype on my computer and e-mail. However, for emergency purposes, I am going to look into pay-as-you-go phones while I am in Ecuador.

Do any of you know of good phone companies in Latin America that offer such plans?

2 Comments

Filed under Ecuador, Facts, International, Latin America // South America, Tips, Travel

2 responses to “Global Phone or No Phone?

  1. About Skype: You can pay $30 for a one year subscription to call land lines and cell phones in the U.S. and Canada and another $30 for a one year subscription to have a phone number assigned to your computer so that your family can call you from land lines and cell phones. (you can pick the area code too so its always local for family and friends). I’m in Afghanistan and for $60 a year I can stay in touch with everyone and they can stay in touch with me. And, it sure beats my $108 per month cell phone bill.

Leave a Reply

