Ready & packed, but the weather may disagree

Today was a successful day. It had to be. Otherwise, I would be, well, to be blatant, I would be screwed. I finished packing! Hooray! During my afternoon devoted to packing, I was reminded of two things.

1. I am definitely not a girly girl. I would gladly sacrifice a pair of shoes to fit my camelback into a suitcase.

2. I fit the stereotype of a typical North American that I think I need to bring all my “things” with me when I travel. However, after a few weeks I’ll realize I had brought too much.

I’ve also come to the realization that I may have had the disadvantage of being born and raised in Arizona, a state that gets less rain in a year than others receive in a day, to paint you somewhat of a portrait of my origins.

This is what I’ll be experiencing in my first week in Quito, Ecuador.

forecast for my first week in Ecuador

Rain, rain and more rain. I’m shocked I was able to buy an umbrella today at the store. I didn’t think they existed in Arizona. Okay, maybe I’m being overly dramatic but I’m being serious when I say that this is going to be a big change. Talk to any native Arizonan and they will tell you that anything below 70 degrees fahrenheit is absolutely freezing! I’m shuddering right now just seeing these digits. I don’t think I have more than two pairs of long pants and four, thin sweaters.  Oh well, it will be an adventure to say the least!

3 Comments

Filed under Arizona, Ecuador, Global, International, Latin America // South America, Nature, Outdoors, Travel, United States, Worldwide

3 responses to “Ready & packed, but the weather may disagree

  1. As a fellow southwesterner, I have often been shocked by different weather patterns (most notably on the east coast, where the snow piled so high you couldn’t see over it!). In my experience, you’ll be able to get everything you need to survive the weather while you’re there, so don’t worry too much about stocking up before you go. For instance, umbrellas are much easier to find and much cheaper in Dublin Ireland than they are in Albuquerque!

    Have a good flight!

Leave a Reply

