Bienvenido a Quito, Ecuador!

Hola, Quito! My friend and I successfully found our apartment. Paid the taxi $7 and was dropped off right in front. Thankfully ALiVE and in one piece! Wow, they sure drive crazy here. No taxi comes equipped with seat-belts in the backseat. However, these Ecuadorians know what they’re doing and some would venture to say  that they are actually safer drivers than those in the U.S. because there are no rules. Thus, they are constantly aware of their surroundings and what the other drivers around them are doing.

Both suitcases, which also passed the 50 lb limit, have been unpacked. My room is HUGE! I have three closets full of drawers and hanging space, three windows with some interesting views and a full bath. I feel extremely lucky to have been able to rent this place.

It’s past 1 a.m. here and I have been up for 19 hours, so I am going to let my head hit my pillow and pass out to the sounds of zooming cars and honking horns.

Pictures should be up tomorrow. It’s dark out so they would not capture the essence of this country. I can’t wait to see the green and region in daylight. Hasta luego mis amigos!

4 Comments

Filed under Ecuador, Global, International, Latin America // South America, Travel, Worldwide

4 responses to “Bienvenido a Quito, Ecuador!

  1. Thulasi

    Glad you reached safe. Sounds like it’s already amazing and your journey is barely beginning. Can’t wait to read more and of course check out all your pictures. =)

  2. Goomba

    Don’t smuggle any drugs while you’re there!

  3. Gloria B.

    My mom learned to drive in the streets of Puerto Rico where rules don’t exists either, so she’s taught me her tricks. Seriously though, people there drive on the shoulder because it’s just “another lane” and they will sit in bumper to bumper traffic and honk at you all day long as if you could move any faster. I imagine it’s somewhat like that in Quito. Have fun and BE SAFE! 🙂

  4. Diann

    Can’t wait to see pics of beautiful Ecuador! Be safe Allison! Mom

Leave a Reply

